Image only: 

News and Announcements

New Individual CPA License Renewal Coming Soon

All individual CPA licenses expire on December 31, 2019. The window for renewing your individual CPA license will be from October 1, 2019 – December 31, 2019. Email notifications for renewal will be sent around October 1, 2019. If your email address has changed since your last renewal, please contact the Board office at gsba@sao.ga.gov to ensure we have the correct email address on your license record. The renewal process will be completed online and the fee is $100 for the 2-year period ending December 31, 2021. Instructions for renewing your CPA license online will be included in your email notification and in this space on our website starting October 1, 2019. Please note that it is your responsibility as a licensee in the State of Georgia to renew your license by the due date. A statutory late fee of $100 will be included on all renewals after the expiration date without exception.

Continuing Professional Education for the 2018-2019 CPE Reporting Period

2019 is a reporting year! The CPA license renewal period begins around October 1, 2019 and ends on December 31, 2019. Please remember to complete your CPE requirements with the Georgia State Board of Accountancy. You are required to complete 80 hours of CPE during the 2018-2019 reporting period (which must include 16 hours of A&A) and a minimum of 20 of the 80 hours must be completed in each calendar year. Please reference Board Rule 20-11 for these and all other CPE requirements.

Ready to Take the CPA Exam or Get Licensed in Georgia?

Please go to www.NASBA.org and click on the “Licensure” heading to see the process for initial licensing in Georgia. NASBA handles that for our State including the processing of Initial Individual Applications, the requirements for qualification and the application for taking the CPA exam. There are links to CPA Examination Services on NASBA’s website. You can also contact the GA Licensing Specialist (email at galicense@nasba.org ) who can provide you with specific answers to your questions not found on our website. If you are not a US citizen or Qualified Alien, there are potential barriers to being licensed in Georgia. In order to be eligible to be licensed by the State of Georgia, candidates must be a U.S. citizen, a legal permanent resident of the U.S., or a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act. NASBA provides an academic review service for a fee (which is required for International Education through NIES) at the following link: https://nasba.org/licensure/nasbalicensing/georgia-2/

CPA Moving to Georgia and Ready to Get Licensed in Georgia?

If you live in Georgia, you are required to be actively licensed in Georgia in order to hold yourself out as a CPA and use the designation. You would obtain a Reciprocal License in Georgia and must apply for it through NASBA. You must meet the Georgia Education requirement for licensing in Georgia even though you are licensed in another State, and you must hold an Active license in the State you are reciprocating from. Please go to www.NASBA.org and click on the “Licensure” heading to see the process for initial licensing in Georgia and follow the path for Initial Reciprocal Applications. The Georgia Licensing Specialist (email at galicense@nasba.org ) should be able to assist you with any questions you may have. Each State’s License is independent and you need to keep up with the qualifications for renewal for each license. We strongly recommend contacting the other State Boards if you are not going to keep up with those licenses to determine what you need to do for compliance with their Rules.

Quick Links