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GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT OF CPA LICENSE 
 

 
GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS 
Please read these instructions carefully and be familiar with the laws and rules governing the practice of accountancy in the 

State of Georgia. Visit the following website for information: www.gsba.georgia.gov.  Board Rule 20-10-.04 concerning 

reinstatement of licensure is enclosed within this application. 
 

The Board cannot process incomplete applications. If any item is missing, incomplete or incorrect, your application cannot 

be reviewed by the Board. Please review the check list below and this application before you submit it to ensure that all 

information and documentation is complete and correct. 

 
Background Investigation Consent Form - This form must be completed, signed and returned with your 

application or your complete application will be returned. 
 

“EMPLOYMENT ACTIVITIES SINCE LAST RENEWAL” - Section must be completed. 
 

Non-refundable Application Fee of $300.00 (check or money order) made payable to Georgia State 

Board of Accountancy must be enclosed. 
 

“REASON FOR FAILING TO RENEW” - Section must be completed. 
 

Continuing Professional Education Report – The required number of completed hours of continuing professional education 

must be reported for reinstatement. See the table below for the number of hours required for reinstatement of license. If 

you do not have the required hours, your complete application will be returned and you have 90 days from the date of the 

notification letter to re-submit the application without an additional fee. 
 

CPE REQUIREMENTS 
 

You are required to have obtained 40 hours of CPE per year, not to exceed 160 hours. You may be required to show proof of this if 

randomly audited.  See Board Rule 20-11-.02 (1) for more information regarding CPE. 

 
A minimum of 20% of total hours must be in accounting and auditing subjects and at least 80 hours must have been earned during the 24 

months immediately preceding the date of the Reinstatement Application. (Reinstatement Application must be signed the date it is 

mailed.) For instance, if you sign the Reinstatement Application on 1/1/18, your 80 hours (with 16 hrs. in A&A) would be from 1/1/16 
to 1/1/18. Hours earned in 2018 and 2019 may also be used for the 12/31/19 renewal reporting period. 

 
CPE requirements must be completed BEFORE submitting the Reinstatement Application. 

 

To illustrate this requirement: 
 

If your license lapsed 12/31/17 you are required to show 80 hours in the 24 months (with 20% in A&A) preceding the date of this application. 

 
If your license lapsed 12/31/15 or prior, you are required to show 160 hours and may use hours from 1/1/14 and forward for all hours 

except for the most recent 80 hours (with 20% in A&A) which must be in the 24 months preceding the date of this application. 



2 of 8  

 

For Board Use Only 

Date of Review_________________ 

Approved                                         

Disapproved                                     

For Board Use Only 

 
Fee Paid          Check #      

Date        Applicant #            

Receipt #            

 
 

GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

200 Piedmont Ave. SE, Suite 1604 West Tower - Atlanta, Georgia 30334 - (404) 463-0365 
www.gsba.georgia.gov 

 
APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT OF CPA LICENSE 

(Application will be returned if all questions are not answered) 

Reinstatement Fee:   $300.00 (Non-Refundable) 

 
PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE 

 
 

License No.  CPA   Date License Lapsed __ ____________ _ 

1. Name on License    
First Middle Last 

 

2.   SSN*    3. Date of Birth    

*THIS INFORMATION IS AUTHORIZED TO BE OBTAINED & DISCLOSED TO STATE & FEDERAL AGENCIES PURSUANT TO O.C.G.A. SECTION 19-11-1 & 
O.C.G.A. SECTION 20-3-295, 42 U.S.C.A. SECTION 551 & 20 U.S.C.A. SECTION 1001. 

 

4. Physical Address 

 
5. Mailing Address 

 
Number and Street (P.O. Box not acceptable) Apt. No. City/State Zip 

(if different than Street address)    

Street, P.O. Box 
 
Apt. No. 

 
City/State Zip 

 
6. Telephone Number Day   (  )   Telephone Number Evening   (  )   

7. Present Employer 
 

 
8. Business Address 

 
 

9. Email address 
 

 
Number and Street City State Zip 

 
10. Since the date of your last renewal, have you been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor (other than a minor traffic violation), 

or entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or sentenced under the “First Offender Act’, or been sanctioned by this or another 

state board or agency? If Yes, check below and attach copy of conviction, plea or sanction. DUI and DWI are not minor 

traffic offenses. 
 

NO YES (If YES, attach a certified copy of conviction, plea or sanction) 
 

11.  DESCRIBE EMPLOYMENT ACTIVITIES SINCE LAST RENEWAL:

http://www.gsba.georgia.gov/
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12.  REASON FOR FAILING TO RENEW: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

APPLICANT AFFIDAVIT: 
I hereby swear and affirm that all information provided in this application is true and correct to the best of my 

knowledge and belief. I further swear and affirm that I have read and understand the current state laws and rules and 

regulations of the Board for which I am applying for licensure and I agree to abide by these laws and rules. 
 

By executing this affidavit under oath, as an applicant for a professional license, as referenced in O.C.G.A. § 50-36- 

1, administered by the State Board of Accountancy, the undersigned applicant also verifies one of the following 

with respect to his/her application for a public benefit (check one): 
 

1)    I am a United States citizen. Please submit a copy of your current Secure and Verifiable 

Document(s) such as driver’s license, passport, or document as indicated on the Board’s 

website. 
 

2)    I am not a United States citizen, but I am either a legal permanent resident of the United States or I 

am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act with an 

alien number issued by the Department of Homeland Security or other federal immigration agency. 

Please submit a copy of your current immigration document(s) which includes either your 

Alien number or your I-94 number and, if needed, SEVIS number. 
 

The undersigned applicant also hereby verifies that he or she is 18 years of age or older and has provided at least one 

secure and verifiable document, as required by O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1(e)(1), with this affidavit. 

 
In making the above representations under oath, I understand that any person who knowingly and willfully makes a 

false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or representation in an affidavit shall be guilty of a violation of O.C.G.A. § 
16-10-20, and face criminal penalties as allowed by such criminal statute. I also understand that any failure to make 
full and accurate disclosures may result in disciplinary action by the Board for which I am applying for licensure. 

 
Executed in    (city),  (state). 

 

 
Signature of Applicant 

 

 
Printed Name of Applicant 

 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME ON THIS THE 

 

      DAY OF  _, 20  ____ 
 
 

NOTARY PUBLIC My Commission Expires: 
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IMPORTANT:  Please see the following for continuing professional education report & page 8 for copy of rule #20-10- 

04. 

 
CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION REPORT 

NAME: 

 
THIS PAGE MUST HAVE TOTALS FOR A & A HOURS AND ALL OTHER SUBJECTS HOURS. APPLICATION WILL BE 

RETURNED IF THESE COLUMNS ARE NOT COMPLETE. THE BOARD WILL NOT TOTAL YOUR CPE HOURS. 

(See page 8 for copy of rule #20-10-.04 (REINSTATEMENT) effective January 25, 2001 for current requirement.) YOU ARE NOT 

REQUIRED TO SUBMIT DOCUMENTATION OF CONTINUING EDUCATION HOURS UNLESS YOU ARE AUDITED. 
 

School, Firm or Organization 

Conducting Program 
Title of Program or Description 

of Content 
Principal 

Instructor 
Dates 

Attended 
Accounting 

& Auditing 
All Other Subjects 
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School, Firm or Organization 

Conducting Program 
Title of Program or Description 

of Content 
Principal 

Instructor 
Dates 

Attended 
Accounting 

& Auditing 
All Other Subjects 

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

 

Sub Total Hours 
 

TOTAL HOURS CLAIMED 
 

ABOVE 2 COLUMNS M UST BE COM PLETED 
 

I certify under penalty of perjury to the truth and accuracy of all statements, answers and representations made in this report. 
 

 
Signature  Date  
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GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 
200 Piedmont Avenue SE, Suite 1604 West Tower 

Atlanta, Georgia 30334 
(404) 463-0365 

 
CONSENT FORM 

 

 

I hereby authorize the State Board of Accountancy (“Board”) to receive any Georgia criminal history record 

information pertaining to me which may be in the files of any state or local criminal justice agency in Georgia. 
 
 
 

Full Name (Print) 
 
 
 
 

 
Physical Address (P.O. Boxes NOT Accepted) 

 

 
 

Sex Race Date of Birth Social Security Number 
 
 
 

One of the following must be checked: 

This authorization is valid for 90/180/  (circle one) days from date of signature. 
 

I,  give consent to the Board to perform periodic 

criminal history background checks for the duration of my licensure with this state. 
 
 
 
 

Signature of Applicant Date 
 
 
 
 
Special licensure provisions (check if applicable): 

 

   Working with mentally disabled 

   Working with elder care 
   Working with children 



Secure and Verifiable Documents Under O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2 

Issued April 3, 2014 by the Office of the Attorney General, Georgia 

 

The Illegal Immigration Reform and Enforcement Act of 2011 (“IIREA”), as amended by Senate 

Bill 160, signed into law as Act No. 27, (2013), provides that “[n]ot later than August 1, 2011, 

the Attorney General shall provide and make public on the Department of Law’s website a list of 

acceptable secure and verifiable documents.  The list shall be reviewed and updated annually by 

the Attorney General.” O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(g).  The Attorney General may modify this list on a 

more frequent basis, if necessary. 

 

The following list of secure and verifiable documents, published under the authority of O.C.G.A. 

§ 50-36-2, contains documents that are verifiable for identification purposes, and documents on 

this list may not necessarily be indicative of residency or immigration status. 

 

• An unexpired United States passport or passport card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR 

§ 274a.2] 

 

• An unexpired United States military identification card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 

CFR § 274a.2] 

 

• An unexpired driver’s license issued by one of the United States, the District of 

Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, the Commonwealth of the 

Northern Marianas Islands, the United States Virgin Island, American Samoa, or the 

Swain Islands, provided that it contains a photograph of the bearer or lists sufficient 

identifying information regarding the bearer, such as name, date of birth, gender, height, 

eye color, and address to enable the identification of the bearer [O.C.G.A. 

§ 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]
1
 

 

• An unexpired identification card issued by one of the United States, the District of 

Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, the Commonwealth of the 

Northern Marianas Islands, the United States Virgin Island, American Samoa, or the 

Swain Islands, provided that it contains a photograph of the bearer or lists sufficient 

identifying information regarding the bearer, such as name, date of birth, gender, height, 

eye color, and address to enable the identification of the bearer [O.C.G.A. 

§ 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 

                                                 
1
 For identification presented to poll workers when voting, a registered Georgia voter may 

present an expired Georgia driver’s license as proof of identification when voting pursuant to 

O.C.G.A. § 21-2-417. 



• An unexpired tribal identification card of a federally recognized Native American tribe, 

provided that it contains a photograph of the bearer or lists sufficient identifying 

information regarding the bearer, such as name, date of birth, gender, height, eye color, 

and address to enable the identification of the bearer.  A listing of federally recognized 

Native American tribes may be found at: 

http://www.bia.gov/WhoWeAre/BIA/OIS/TribalGovernmentServices/TribalDirectory/ind

ex.htm [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 

• An unexpired United States Permanent Resident Card or Alien Registration Receipt Card 

[O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 

• An unexpired Employment Authorization Document that contains a photograph of the 

bearer [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 

• An unexpired passport issued by a foreign government, provided that such passport is 

accompanied by a United States Department of Homeland Security (“DHS”) Form I-94, 

DHS Form I-94A, DHS Form I-94W, or other federal form specifying an individual’s 

lawful immigration status or other proof of lawful presence under federal immigration 

law
2
 [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 

• An unexpired Merchant Mariner Document or Merchant Mariner Credential issued by the 

United States Coast Guard [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 

• An unexpired Free and Secure Trade (FAST) card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR 

§ 41.2] 

 

• An unexpired NEXUS card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR § 41.2] 

 

• An unexpired Secure Electronic Network for Travelers Rapid Inspection (SENTRI) card 

[O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR § 41.2] 

 

• An unexpired driver’s license issued by a Canadian government authority [O.C.G.A. 

§ 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 

• A Certificate of Citizenship issued by the United States Department of Citizenship and 

Immigration Services (USCIS) (Form N-560 or Form N-561) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 

6 CFR § 37.11] 

 

                                                 
2
 Senate Bill 160 (Act No. 27), effective July 1, 2013, limited the use of passports issued by 

foreign nations to satisfy the requirements for submission of secure and verifiable documents to 

only those passports submitted in conjunction with a United States Department of Homeland 

Security (“DHS”) Form I-94, DHS Form I-94A, DHS Form I-94W, or other federal form 

specifying an individual’s lawful immigration status or other proof of lawful presence under 

federal immigration law. 



• A Certificate of Naturalization issued by the United States Department of Citizenship and 

Immigration Services (USCIS) (Form N-550 or Form N-570) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 

6 CFR § 37.11] 

 

• Certification of Report of Birth issued by the United States Department of State (Form 

DS-1350) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11] 

 

• Certification of Birth Abroad issued by the United States Department of State (Form 

FS-545) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11] 

 

• Consular Report of Birth Abroad issued by the United States Department of State (Form 

FS-240) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11] 

 

• An original or certified copy of a birth certificate issued by a State, county, municipal 

authority, or territory of the United States bearing an official seal [O.C.G.A. 

§ 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11] 

 

• When applying for any public benefit with the Department of Driver Services, an 

applicant may submit either an expired or unexpired document that is listed above as a 

secure and verifiable document.  [O.C.G.A. §§ 50-36-1(g) & 50-36-2(b)(3)] 

 

• When applying for a voter identification card pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 21-2-417.1, an 

individual may submit the aggregate forms of identification authorized by O.C.G.A. 

§ 21-2-417.1(e). 

 

• In addition to the documents listed herein, if, in administering a public benefit or 

program, an agency is required by federal law to accept a document or other form of 

identification for proof of or documentation of identity, that document or other form of 

identification will be deemed a secure and verifiable document solely for that particular 

program or administration of that particular public benefit. [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(c)] 
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RULES OF THE GEORGIA STATE BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 
 

20-10-.04 REINSTATEMENT 
 
20-10-.04 Reinstatement. Amended. 

 
(1) An application for reinstatement of an expired permit shall be accompanied by: 

(a) A reinstatement fee of $300.00; and 

(b) Evidence satisfactory to the Board, of the completion of continuing professional education 

as specified below: 
 

1. Forty hours of continuing professional education for each year since the last renewal of the 

permit or since the initial issuance of the permit, whichever is less, up to a maximum of 160 

hours. 

 
2.   At least twenty percent of the total hours required must be earned in accounting and auditing 

subjects. 

 
3.   At least 80 of the continuing professional education hours must have been completed 

during the 2-year period immediately preceding the date of application for reinstatement. 
 

4.   The hours required may be counted toward fulfilling the continuing professional 

education requirements for the next biennial renewal, if they were completed during the 

applicable period for renewal. 

 
5.   No carryover hours may be used to satisfy continuing professional education 

requirements for reinstatement of an expired permit. 

 
(c) The Board may, however, accept in lieu of the continuing professional education requirements other 

evidence of continued competency including, but not limited to, the passing of an examination 

approved by the Board. 

 
(2) In considering the application for reinstatement the Board may conduct an investigation of the 

applicant to determine, among other things, if the applicant engaged in the practice of public 

accountancy during the period that the applicant was not the holder of a live permit to practice public 

accountancy. Based on the results of that investigation, the Board may deny the application for 

reinstatement. 


